Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

    Martin wins at Fargo Pro Open Day 2

    Posted by AmSnow
    on Monday, March 11, 2013

     Ross Martin broke Tucker Hibbert's winning streak when he won the Pro Open at the Fargo National ISOC race on March 9 at Buffalo River Race Park.
    And in the Pro Lite main event at BRRP on Saturday it was again Jake Scottthat took it to the field, locking down his second consecutive weekend sweep with 1st/1st finishes on Friday and Saturday.

    Pro Open

    Martin had an inside line start and No. 1 gate pick as the day’s Pro Open qualifier at Buffalo River Race Park. Friday’s winner Tucker Hibbert was close behind in 4th place  and was making his move up front when he left the track on the back portion of the race track and re-entered the track all the way back in 13th place.

    At the same time as Hibbert had issues fellow Arctic Cat pilot Logan Christian, who was running in 2nd place at the time, pulled off the track and his night was ended. So this left Martin with a near three-second lead over Emil Ohman and Tim Tremblay.

    By lap seven of the 18-lap contest Martin had put nearly four seconds on the next-closest racer (Ohman) while Hibbert moved into the top ten. Tremblay would then put his head down and charge up to Ohman, getting past the Swedish great a couple laps later.

    With Martin now holding off the hard-charging defending champ Tremblay, there was no way Hibbert  would be able to catch the leaders. The only question was if Tremblay could catch Martin, to which Martin would ride a wide sled the last couple laps and hold off Tremblay for the victory.

    “I just wanted to come in today and win. Qualified No. 1 and got the first gate pick and up front early. When I was up front I just had the biggest smile on my face. Put my head down and just went for it,” Martin said.

    Though Hibbert has a substantial lead in the overall Pro Open points chase, Martin broke up the virtual tie between himself and Tremblay heading into Saturday’s Pro Open main at BRRP and now leads the defending champ by five points (500-495) for the No. 2 position behind Hibbert (577 points).

    Saturday Fargo Ram Truck Snocross Pro Open Results
    1 Martin Ross
    2 Tremblay Tim
    3 Ohman Emil
    4 Pallin Kyle

    Pro Lite

    Jake Scott busted out to the early lead with Andrew Carlson and David Joanis in hot pursuit. But with the podium all but decided with just a several laps to go in the 12-lap contest, all heck broke loose when Carlson wadded up and Joanis ran over him.

    As both racers on the ground and their sleds on their sides, Andrew Lieders  and Joey Sagan came blasting past and into the final two podium spots behind Scott. And though Travis Muller and Riley McClelland would give chase, there weren’t enough laps left to catch Lieders (2nd) and Sagan (3rd).

    And Scott was long gone.

    “My second win of the weekend … I’m so pumped right now,” said Scott, who qualified in the No. 1 position for Saturday’s Pro Lite main event. “I got the holeshot and then just had fun racing out there and was able to win.”
    For Lieders it’d be his second podium of the weekend, admitting it was a bit of gift again (Joanis and Muller went down on Friday, allowing Lieders to make the podium) – but he’ll take it. “The Pro Lite class is so fast and chaotic … I’m just happy to get up here on the podium. Thanks to Trey Leighton, the team owner. It’s his birthday today and this is for him.”

    The third and final podium position went to Sagan, who won his opening heat race and ran well all day to put himself in a position to podium – his first trip to the rostrum this year. “I’m super stoked, this is my first time up here,” said Sagan, who moved into the top ten in overall Pro Lite points (10th). “Sucks for David (Joanis), but that’s racing and I’m happy to capitalize on it.”

    With one round remaining (two races) Scott now has a sizable 59-point lead over 2nd place overall Lieders.

    Saturday Fargo Ram Truck Snocross Pro Lite Results
    1  Scott Jake
    2  Lieders Andrew
    3 Sagan Joey
    4  Muller Travis

    Photos courtesy of Lissa Marsolek/Wayne Davis Photography

    To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
    Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
    No one has commented yet.

    Join our Community!

    Our community is FREE to join. To participate you must either login or register for an account.

    Sign up for our free newsletter
    More great sites from Kalmbach Publishing Co.