Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

    Kyle Tapio wins King of Kings at Jackson Hole Hillclimb

    Posted by AmSnow
    on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

     Arctic Cat's Kyle Tapio won the Improved, Mod and King of Kings titles at the 2013 Jackson Hole World Championship Hillclimb.

    Riding an Arctic Cat M800 HCR, Tapio waged a personal war against the gnarly course at Snow King Mountain, winning both the 800 Improved and 800 Mod finals. When all of the class winners competed in the final King competition, Tapio proved who the true World Champion is by taking the Improved, Mod and King of Kings titles in convincing fashion.

    “There’s a reason that Kyle is regarded as the King of Jackson,” said Al Shimpa, Team Arctic Hillclimb Coordinator. “For the second year in a row, he won two class finals, two King-of-class titles and the ultimate King of King championship as best of the entire event. He is truly an outstanding hillclimb racer.”

    Joining Tapio on top of the Snow King podium were two additional Team Arctic teammates. David McClure won the 600 Improved class in addition to finishing second in 700 Improved and third in 800 Stock aboard his Arctic Cat M800 HCR. Likewise, Jeremy Archibald led a Team Arctic podium sweep of the 700 Improved class. Team Arctic racers scored 19 podium finishes at the World Championships.

    “I’m so impressed with all of the Team Arctic racers and crews,” said Shimpa. “Everyone came to  Jackson with their best effort, proving Arctic Cat dominated  the toughest mountain race  of the year. With three races remaining on the RMSHA circuit, I expect we’ll see a lot more wins before the 2013 hillclimb season concludes.”

    600 Improved
    1. David McClure
    2. Rob Kincaid
    3. Jeremy Archibald

    600 Mod
    2. Russ Tapio

    700 Stock
    3. Chance Buckallew

    700 Improved
    1. Jeremy Archibald
    2. David McClure
    3. Rob Kinciad

    700 Mod
    2. Nels Tapio

    800 Stock
    3. David McClure

    800 Improved
    1. Kyle Tapio

    Open Mod
    1. Kyle Tapio

    Pro Masters Improved
    3. Tony Ottobre

    Pro Masters Mod
    3. Tony Ottobre

    Women’s Stock
    3. Jan Ottobre

    Women's Improved
    2. Amy Zollinger
    3. Jan Ottobre

    Women’s Mod
    3. Kaycee Balls

    Amateur Final
    2. Shay Smith

    Improved Stock King: Kyle Tapio
    Mod King: Kyle Tapio
    King of Kings: Kyle Tapio

    To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
    Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
    No one has commented yet.

    Join our Community!

    Our community is FREE to join. To participate you must either login or register for an account.

    Sign up for our free newsletter
    More great sites from Kalmbach Publishing Co.