Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

    First Wave of Invited Athletes Announced for X Games Aspen 2017

    Posted by Emily Hare
    on Wednesday, November 16, 2016

    Tucker Hibbert practices for Snowmobile SnoCross at X Games Aspen 2016. Photo by Joe Wiegele / ESPN Images.
    ESPN returns to Buttermilk Mountain in Aspen Snowmass, Colo. (Jan. 26-29, 2017), for the 16th consecutive year to showcase the world’s premier action sports competition with live coverage on ESPN and ABC. The 2017 event will again feature action sports competitions, world-class musical performances and a festival village.
    The first wave of athlete invites will include 98 invitations to compete at X Games Aspen 2017. For X Games Aspen 2017, all 2016 medalists with sport disciplines returning in 2017 received an automatic invite to compete in the 2017 event. The first wave of invited athletes includes Joe Parsons, the most decorated snowmobiler in X Games history. In 2013, Parsons became the first male to earn three medals at a single X Games winter event, only the second person in history to do it. Parsons trains at home with freestyle riders Heath Frisby and Cory Davis.

    Also invited is snow bike athlete Robbie Maddison, who is best known for his record-breaking jumps and creative stunts, and for pushing the boundaries of what can be done on a bike. One of his most famous leaps was in 2011, when he jumped more than 378 feet, setting a new world record distance jump during the Red Bull New Year. No Limits. event in San Diego. The Aussie daredevil has one X Games medal (silver) for Moto X Best Trick in 2011.

    Adam Renheim competes in Snowmobile SnoCross Elimination during X Games Aspen 2016. Photo by Matt Morning / ESPN Images.
    Here are the rest of the invited snowmobile and snow bike athletes:

    • Snowmobile Freestyle – Cory Davis, Heath Frisby, Levi LaVallee, Colten Moore, Joe Parsons, Brett Turcotte.
    • Snowmobile Best Trick – Heath Frisby, Colten Moore.
    • Snowmobile Snocross – Logan Christian, Tucker Hibbert, Elias Ishoel, Ross Martin, Kyle Pallin, Adam Renheim, Corin Todd, Tim Tremblay.
    • Snowmobile Snocross Adaptive – E.J. Poplawski, Mike Schultz, Paul Thacker, Jeff Tweet, Jim Wazny.
    • Snow Bike Bikecross – Axell Hodges, Brock Hoyer, Robbie Maddison, Ronnie Renner, Reagan Sieg, Jackson Strong.

    ESPN and ABC will televise a combined 16 hours of live X Games Aspen competition.  Additional competition, music and behind-the-scenes content will be carried on ESPN3 as well as the latest coverage across ESPN digital platforms, including, X Games app, X Games pages across Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Tumblr and more.

    For a complete list of invited athletes please visit

    To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
    Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
    No one has commented yet.

    Join our Community!

    Our community is FREE to join. To participate you must either login or register for an account.

    Sign up for our free newsletter
    By signing up you may also receive reader surveys and occasional special offers. We do not sell, rent or trade our email lists. View our Privacy Policy.
    More great sites from Kalmbach Publishing Co.