Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

    X Games Aspen 2017: Day 1 Results

    Posted by Emily Hare
    on Friday, January 27, 2017

    Petter Narsa competes in Snowmobile SnoCross. (Photo by Matt Morning / ESPN Images)
    In the wake of a series of winter storms that dumped nearly three feet of powder the preceding week, X Games Aspen 2017 celebrated it's 21st year in epic fashion as capacity crowds witnessed the world's best action sports athletes compete at Buttermilk Mountain. Thursday's schedule included the high-octane Snowmobile SnoCross and Snowmobile SnoCross Adaptive events.

    At the end of the SnoCross final, it wasn't Tucker Hibbert who stood atop the podium, but underdog Petter Narsa of Sweden. Jockeying for position early on, Narsa had to contend with countryman Adam Renheim's fierce riding before eventually securing a lead he would never relinquish. In the end, Narsa took gold, Renhiem grabbed his second straight Silver, and Lincoln Lemieux snagged Bronze. Notably absent from the podium was Hibbert, who finished fourth. Hibbert had previously landed nine straight gold medals in SnoCross at the X Games.

    Mike Schultz practices for the Snowmobile SnoCross Adaptive event. (Photo by Pete Demos / ESPN Images)
    Earlier in the day, Mike Schultz earned his sixth straight gold medal in the Snowmobile SnoCross Adaptive final, edging out Garrett Goodwin and Jeff Tweet, who earned silver and bronze, respectively.

    X Games Aspen continues today with the all new Snow BikeCross final along with the Women's Ski SuperPipe final and the the Lifeproof Men's Ski SuperPipe final followed by a sold-out musical performance by Bassnectar on the GEICO Music Stage. Competition then wraps up with a prime-time showdown as the world's best riders square off for the America's Navy Men's Snowboard Big Air final. 

    For a full schedule and results, visit the X Games website.

    Tucker Hibbert (right) had won the last nine consecutive gold medals in the Snowmobile SnoCross event, but he failed to land on the podium in 2017. (Photo by Matt Morning / ESPN Images)
    Snowmobile SnoCross
    1. Petter Narsa (SWE) 9:53.91
    2. Adam Renheim (SWE) 9:56.75
    3. Lincoln Lemieux (USA) 9:58.19
    4. Tucker Hibbert (USA) 9:59.93
    5. Tim Tremblay (CAN) 10:01.97
    6. Corin Todd (USA) 10:09.53
    7. Elias Ishoel (NOR) DNF
    8. Ryan Springger (USA) DNF
    Gold - Petter Narsa; Siver - Adam Renheim; Bronze - Lincoln Lemieux 

    Snowmobile SnoCross Adaptive

    1. Mike Schultz (USA) 3:33.85 
    2. Garrett Goodwin (USA) 3:33.77
    3. Jeff Tweet (USA) 3:44.90 
    4. Doug Henry (USA) 3:48.32
    5. Paul Thacker (USA) 3:54.49
    6. Jim Wazny (USA) 3:55.14
    7. E.J. Poplawski (USA) -1 lap
    Gold - Mike Schultz; Silver - Garrett Goodwin; Bronze - Jeff Tweet

    To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
    Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
    No one has commented yet.

    Join our Community!

    Our community is FREE to join. To participate you must either login or register for an account.

    Sign up for our free newsletter
    By signing up you may also receive reader surveys and occasional special offers. We do not sell, rent or trade our email lists. View our Privacy Policy.
    More great sites from Kalmbach Publishing Co.