Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

    Team Arctic Triumphs at 50th Anniversary Soo International 500 Enduro

    Posted by Tyler Nelson
    on Tuesday, February 6, 2018

     After 500 miles of battling snow, bumps and the fastest endurance racers in the world on the famed one-mile oval in Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., Team Arctic triumphed at the 50th Annual Soo International 500 Enduro. The Christian Brothers Racing duo of Zach Herfindahl and Wes Selby prevailed to win the historic event in stunning fashion following a 100-lap dogfight with the top four teams, with the Cadarette Collision team of Troy DeWald, Ryan Spencer and Bill Wilkes taking fourth overall.

    “That was one of the gutsiest, most hard-fought racing performances I’ve had the pleasure to witness” said Team Arctic Race Manager Mike Kloety, referring to the battle that ensued between the top four teams during the final 100 laps. “To have the top four teams finish within 20 seconds after 500 miles shows the parity and tenacity of the sport’s best racers. To prevail was a testament to our racers and their teams.”

    Nine teams competed at the 50th Anniversary event aboard Arctic Cat ZR 6000R snowmobiles, and several appeared ready to take the win. Troy DeWald led a Team Arctic sweep of the top five places in Thursday’s 25-lap Woody’s Challenge event, plus set the fastest qualifying lap to take the pole position for Saturday’s main event. As a previous two-time winner, Dewald knew what it would take to claim a third crown. The Bouchard Racing, Langaas Racing and Arneson Racing were in the mix for the first half of the race. The second Christian Brothers Racing team of Ryan Trout and Re Wadena finished third in 2017 and were in the mix until a track came apart on lap 285.

     Likewise, the duo of Herfindahl and Selby were equally ready, having finished second in 2017 (with Selby winning the 2015 event with then-teammate Brian Dick) and regarded by many as two of the fastest terrain racers in the world today. They showed their intent by running near the front for the first few hundred laps, with a strategy putting themselves in a position to sprint for the win in the final 50 laps. They did precisely that.

    The final outcome would reflect the expert preparation of the Arctic Cat ZR 6000R race sled with a Speedwerx-modified C-TEC2 engine, a dedicated crew that kept pit stops to a minimum, and remarkable driving by two outstanding athletes. Herfindahl’s charge during the final 100 laps gave the extra margin needed to score the third win for Team Arctic since DeWald and teammates first put Arctic Cat on top in 2010.

    Team Arctic Results from the 50th Annual Soo 500 Enduro in Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

    1. Zach Herfindahl / Wes Selby

    Christian Brothers Racing

    4. Troy Dewald /Ryan Spencer Cadarette Collision
    12. John Booth / Kyle Roe R&S Racing
    19. Ross Erdman / Chad Lian / Dylan Stevens Bouchard Racing
    20. Ben Langaas / Tyler Ottinger Langaas Racing
    27. Matt Town / Luke Krantz / Greg Town KMW Racing

    28. Bob Spears / Michael Leinberger / Jordan Erickson / Matt Hoos

    Team Scream

    29. Ryan Trout / Re Wadena Christian Brothers Racing
    30. Timmy Kallock / Cody Kallock / Cody Shinault Arneson Racing
    To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
    Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
    No one has commented yet.

    Join our Community!

    Our community is FREE to join. To participate you must either login or register for an account.

    Sign up for our free newsletter
    By signing up you may also receive reader surveys and occasional special offers. We do not sell, rent or trade our email lists. View our Privacy Policy.
    More great sites from Kalmbach Publishing Co.